Hand reading exercise for teaching basics to new players

Background: I’ve been playing poker daily since late August 2018. I’ve improved as a player by leaps and bounds, and still have a lot to learn. I think I’m pretty good, but I’ve always thought I was pretty good. While I’m probably wrong about how good I am at any point in time, it’s good to have a positive self-image and be an optimist. My hand outcomes have messed with this optimism quite a bit, but despite that I’ve managed to win chips over this time.

I talk to my girlfriend about my play, and she’s not a poker player, so she doesn’t have a great deal of understanding about the game, isn’t familiar with terms and jargon, and it’s been an obstacle to having meaningful conversations.

We’re practicing social distancing due to the pandemic, and so have been looking for activities that we can do that don’t involve going out, and learning how to play poker was one of the items that made it to the list.

First, I just tried to explain how a hand of NLHE is played. This didn’t go so well. I’d start dealing the hand and explain what’s happening at each step, and get bombarded with questions that would derail the hand playing out to the extent that it was hard to get through the hand. The questions weren’t bad, by any means, but just getting through explaining how a hand is played was not giving her the picture that would help answer most of those questions.

After getting through a hand, we tried playing a few, heads up. I didn’t try to play advanced strategies, she didn’t have any idea bout how or when to bet. Eventually it devolved to she’d call any bet because she just wanted to see the cards.