Calling a Raise on the River

Hello poker addicts :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:,
It took me a long time and a lot of money to finally learn not to do this:

You got dealt Aces or Kings and raise of course. A passive, on the Nit side player called you.
You made a half pot size C-bet on a dry, rainbow flop and he called.
You bet half the pot again on a turn that brought both a flush and a straight draws, he took a little time and called again.
Nothing got completed on the river, so you made a nice value bet only to get surprised by a raise 3 times your bet!
What to do?

When I was a newbie, always excited by holding a ā€œmonsterā€, I just pushed the rest of my stack in the middle and get the bad news 99% of the time. My opponent had flopped a set of course.

Always pay attention to what kind of player youā€™re up against. An aggressive player might pay you on the river if he has anything, but if you get raised by a NIT, on the river no less, just throw your monster in the muckā€¦

well, in some cases it can be a bluff, Iā€™m sure you know it perfectly well

1 Like

I would consider that a semi-bluff, good decision if it paid off well !!

1 Like

Hey bud. Go with your gut.

You could always just call rather than slamming all your chips in.

Opponent may have picked up 2 pr too.

Ogma.

1 Like

I agree itā€™s fine to overfold these spots unless you have specific player notes. Youā€™re not getting great odds to call, so you can profitably fold a lot of your range. Add to this the fact that this is generally an underbluffed spot, and I wouldnā€™t lose too much sleep over the times you get bluffed.

2 Likes

Solid advice. When a tight player raises big on the river, itā€™s usually a strong hand. Iā€™ve learned to let go of my ā€œmonstersā€ in those spots to avoid costly mistakes. Better to be cautious than sorryā€¦

1 Like

Yes, Nits are underbluffing the turn and river in general - not to speak about raising as a bluff.