Who has a hero?

Who inspires you when times are tough?
When ever things seem hard for me, I think of my great grandfather who I never met.
He played the fiddle very well, self taught couldnt read music.
In the early 1930s work was scarce, money for the unemployed workers was non existant and tough times for the poor, people were making soup from grass here in the uk.
My great grandfather would go busking with his fiddle to put food on the table, busking was only a step above begging in those days.
The thing is he would cycle on his fixed wheel bike to the outlying small towns around his home town of Ayr to avoid embarrassing the family and neighbours.
But the real story is that he fell out a tree as a small boy and broke his leg and in those days before anti-biotics his leg got infected and was removed.
So a one legged fiddler was cycling up to 30-40 miles a day up and down hills to put food on the table, now thats a man! I am thankfull to be of his blood and he is my hero.
Anyone else have a hero?

11 Likes

The Good Lord Above!

6 Likes

Absolutely, I receive all the inspiration needed for me everyday from my Lord aboveā€™s word and love for me.

6 Likes

@swamptrash , Great example, your Great Grandfather set for everyone. Never give up and make things happen, when needed.

4 Likes

Jack Nicolus

3 Likes

Not only a Great Golfer but great example for all as, he served so many folks with needā€™s

3 Likes