Long breaks

Did you ever have to take a long break from playing poker, for any reason? How did it feel to come back? Did you play your a-game right away? Did you pick up things from where you left them?
Personally, after a two-year period away from the game I find it difficult to adjust. For me, it definitely isn’t like riding a bike.
I mean that some functions are already integrated and appear somehow like reflexes, p.e. my range is still the nitty one I had before, my betting size is standard as always.
On the other hand, my mental game is practically non-existent. I either play timidly or over-confidently. I know my hand’s strength, but I cannot range the opponent’s hand. I deal with bad beats like an absolute beginner. I have diminished patience, so I tend to get fancy or reckless.
I overplay decent hands a lot and I tend to think that opponents betting strongly are holding crap and only try to intimidate me and make me fold my good hand. As a result I make way too many hero calls.
All this does kind of work somehow for me in small stakes cash games, especially zoom type, where there are no reads and tells between opponents, so in theswe I am marginally profitable whenever I play them, but they are a disaster in tournaments.
Do you know the saying: “If after a while you haven’t spotted the sucker on the table, it’s probably you”?
Well, it’s true. I usually am.
p.e. I recently played a PLO tourney for my League and in the first half hour I became the chipleader. 1st/18/18 the table reminded me. After a couple of bad decisions (which I knew were bad the moment I made them, always thinking “as if…”), I avallanched to 12/12/18 and with my “tough-nut-chip’n’achair” attitude I managed to survive until 8/8/18. In earlier times I would at least have made it to top 3, if not taken the blasted thing down…
To sum things up, my game is not the same. Of course it didn’t improve, but it didn’t deteriorate that much either.