How to start playing poker?

I am new and need help, my name is benito3636 if someone wants to add me and help me, if not then its fine :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Go to youtube and look up Blackrain79 beginning poker. Those videos will help you immensely. My advice is:

1. Play very tight
  2. Be aggressive when you play a hand
  3. Don’t play crummy cards
  4. Be very aware of your position at the table
  5. Learn to read the board texture
  6. Pay attention to your opponents betting patterns, because their bet sizes often vary according to the strength of cards they hold.
  7. Be patient
  8. Winning poker is boring poker

Good luck

7 Likes

In contrast to MinnowShark’s advice, I would suggest almost the exact opposite to a complete beginner playing on a free site.

Play a lot of hands and make a lot of mistakes. Bluff a lot, call light a lot, do things that will make you cringe when you reflect on them years later. Every mistake you learn from becomes a brick in a foundation of poker knowledge you’ll develop over years and decades of playing.

Playing tight and scared by waiting for exclusively strong hands will only take you to a certain level of poker success. It’s actually an easy wait to play profitably at most low stakes real money tables and especially on Replay. But when you’re learning you want to experience as many scenarios as you can put yourself into to help your growth.

When you do something wrong, think about it and ask yourself honestly what you did wrong. Get help from your friends, or you can also post your hands here and get a plethora of opinions on what you did right or wrong.

Just please do not mistake success here as something that will translate to real money success. Please don’t win on Replay then move to cash games believing you have an edge.

But there are some basics I would suggest you learn