Versions of Poker

The game of Poker has been around for a very long time. In the western movies, we see the people sitting around a table playing Poker. I don’t think I have seen a western without that scene in it. Over the years, Poker has branched out into other forms or versions of Poker, each version with its own type of strategy. Which form or version of Poker do you like to play? I know some of the versions, but I am sure you know a couple that I don’t know.

4 Likes

5 card draw
5 card stud
7 card stud
Razz
2-7 Triple Draw
Omaha
Omaha High Lo
Anaconda
Kill Game
Twist
HORSE
Hi/Lo Chicago
Follow the Queen
Countdown
Guts
Five-O Poker
Chinese Poker
2 player Kuhn Poker
Wall Street Poker

That’s all I got for now

2 Likes

I like Holdem best, but have recently enjoyed Omaha hi/low and 7 card Stud. Craig has listed other forms of poker, but it would be great if someone would explain the variations of the ones in the list as I have no knowledge of most of them. How many are in general use now, for instance?

4 Likes

I did not realize there were that many versions and I don’t know a lot of them on that list. Thank you for sharing.

2 Likes

All of them !

It would take me weeks to text all of the elements of each game but perhaps in your free time you can Google each one.

Your welcome. There are more variations but most use wild cards and there are more Chinese variations.

There’s a “new” game out there that I would like to try, but I forget what it’s called.

In this game, you get 6 hole cards, then separate them into a 2 card holdem hand and a 4 card Omaha H/L hand. The dealer then deals 2 different boards, one for the holdem hands, one for the Omaha hands.

4 Likes

Ah yes, the “ new “ Buffet Poker .

1 Like

Badugi is a fun, interesting one. It’s 4-card triple-draw lowball where you need all 4 cards to be different suits.

Pairs work against you, as do matched suits.

Deal 4 cards. Bet.
Draw. Bet.
Draw. Bet.
Draw. Bet.
Showdown.