The debate is over, i think

From the time i started playing holdem, (about 5 months, now), i’ve debated with myself about buying cheap flops
shout out to warlock for some links he posted about SnG strategy. i picked up a lot of tips, and concepts that helped with some problems with my game, such as ‘how to play pocket jacks’. still not sure why AQ is so problematic (i read that daniel n. named the hand after all the money he’s lost with it) , or why KT is a sucker’s hand. must be a pro thing.

the guide, and it’s links, seemed to contradict itself in the area of seeing flops for cheap. in one place it says to see as many flops as feisable, while the blinds are low. elsewhere, the guide advises avoiding comfortation in he early stages, and using your tightest range for each posistion. get closer to the money.

i can see the wisdom in the former, even beyond being a newbie, watching folded hands becoming pot winners. you can’t win if you don’t play. for some reason, lots of players will let you build hands that beats them, for almost nothing.

however, the more i play, the more i tend to lean toward the latter. i have more success when i split the game up into 3 parts.

1. (7-9 seats)…play premium hands, carefully. use fold time to watch the strong/lucky players knock out the weak/unlucky players. try to steadly build your stack for stage 2. create a tight table image.
  2. (4-6 seats)…hopfully, you’re top stack, or close to it, and you can start to act on some of the info you have picked up, be it waiting in the tall grass for someone who’s semi-bluffing his draw hands, stealing/restealing blinds, or knocking short stacks off their draw hands, or pulling them all-in with a draw that misses most of the time. this requires a tight image, and a stack that you can regroup with, when they call and get lucky.