poker hand analysis, because I win with a pair of sevens when I have two pair

I’ve been in it very little because I’m still learning, but I don’t understand why I win the pair of sevens if I’m sure that double pair wins

flop:
7 :diamonds: - Q :four_leaf_clover: - 3 :four_leaf_clover: - 2 :heart: - 5 :four_leaf_clover:

my hand : Q :heart: - 5 :heart:

opponent hand : 7 :heart: k :diamonds:

replay: Hand #865826227 · Replay Poker

U started hand w/139 chips and won the Main pot w/QQ55 … The side pot was won by the 77 … u Got the max out of ur hand

2 Likes

You started the hand with 139 chips. Once the pot goes over 139 chips from every player involved a side pot is created for the players with more than 139 chips. You didn’t have enough chips to be involved in this pot. You won the main pot and fishwitleg won this seperate side pot. You can only win the amount you bet from each player.
Suppose I have 100 chips and you have 1,000. If I go all-in and you call my all-in I can only win 100 from you. I can win a chip for every chip I bet.
If 4 players are involved and I have 100 chips and the other 3 all have 1,000 I can only win a pot of 400. Any chips bet by the other players above my 100 are a side pot between them so I could win the main pot of 400 and one of the other players wins the 2,700 in the side pot.

3 Likes

Excuse me for me lame analysis lol … SMH

Huh?.. The guy is new and just learning. Help him out a bit by explaining why and how. Try to explain things to a new player. Help new players so we all benefit by growing the site. Teach new players rather than bestow analysis they may not yet understand. Try to be a leader, a friendly port of call, as they explore poker. There is no need for the passive aggressiveness

2 Likes

Yea ok u got my point … This is why I don’t give analysis b/c want to be “experts” try to fill the page w/their shallow ego … If u want to help this player maybe start w/calling the raise in the 1st place :slight_smile: