Online versus live poker

Several times since I started reading the articles in the Forum about 3 months ago, I have seen a number of posts where it was stated that the poster had never played live poker in a card room or had once or twice or was contemplating doing it for the first time. I thought since this was something I have a lot of experience with, I could share some of it if their is an interest.
I have been thinking about it for a few days and decided there is just too much for one post, so I decided I would do one and if there is interest for me to continue, I will. In this first post I am going to talk about equipment. If you have never played live you may not be familiar with all the equipment you will be exposed to when you do go for the first time or two. I think I will cover about half of the equipment in this post then can finish up with the rest in a second post . Then get into the actual differences in play. Let me know what you think.

EQUIPMENT

poker tables:

Poker table are manufactured by several companies and some by private individuals who specialize in custom built tables made to order. There is some difference in size and a big difference in quality. Most run from 3’ 6" x 6’ 6" up to 4’ x 8’. I once had one made that was 4’ x 9’. My players loved it as they had much more room to stretch out when playing, but my dealers hated it. They had to stand up to reach the chips bet at seat 3 and seat 8. I should mention that in card rooms throughout USA, holdem and similar games are all played on a table with 10 seats as opposed to the 9 here at Replay. If you get in a tournament and draw for a seat and it says Table 12, seat 7, you need to go find table 7 which should be marked and then starting at the left of the dealer, count around to seat 7. Grab a seat cushion and a beverage holder and you are ready to go.

There are 3 variants of table top supports I will mention briefly.