Milestone: 4 Milllion Chips

My bankroll went over the 4 million chips mark today. I’m pleased with my accomplishment. I feel like my game has stepped up another level, and my win rate and confidence is up again.

I won Saturday night’s Bounty Brawl MTT, my fourth (I think) MTT victory.

When I started playing again on this site, back in September, I had 1.2M chips in my bankroll. I dropped down to as low as 600,000 chips or thereabouts before I gained enough experience and knowledge to start winning more chips than I lose. This process took a good 3-4 months of daily play, often 6+ hours/night. So, a lot of hard work to learn the game and how to win.

After I reached the 3M milestone, I took a 3 week break from playing, came back and since then I’ve gone and won another million in not too much time. So I guess at this point I feel like I can say I’m competent. I still make mistakes sometimes, but I haven’t had a bout with tilt in so long I can’t remember precisely when the last time was. Emotionally I’m playing on an even keel and that has made my game so much better.

As an example of that, tonight in one of my SNG tournaments, I went bust in 6th place after shoving AK and getting called by 83s. My shove was only 25% of the big stack’s chips, and I guess he didn’t feel afraid to call, and he ended up pairing the 8 while I missed the board completely. Earlier at this same table, I folded hands that would have made me trip Kings, a flush, and a full house, because the players I was up against were so aggressive preflop and I couldn’t hang. They were good, high ranked players, not bingo boys. So I definitely have more to learn. 2 months ago, it would have frustrated me to go out like that, and that would have probably led me to play poorly for the rest of the night and burn through 200-300K of bankroll before pulling out of my nosedive. But I came back and won my next SNG.