How to play low pocket pairs on a 9 handed Texas Hold'em table?

Hey all I’m fairly new to Texas Hold’em and would love your advice on the following. I always have trouble playing low pocket pairs (55’s and lower) 9 handed. What does everyone think an acceptable play is in the following positions:

1. Small blind
  2. Button
  3. Under the gun

Look forward to some discussion on this!

I play them different when playing for money than I do free chips. Low pairs I see the flop and fold if I don’t hit.

1 Like
  1. Small blind, if isolated vs the BB, usually raise 3x and try to take it down right there. If there are 1 or more limpers already in, just call and see the flop. Fold if there is a big raise, though you might call a modest raise and see if you connect on the flop. If you miss, follow the “no set, no bet” rule.

2. Button, pretty much the same as SB.

3, UTG, I almost never raise small to medium pairs from this position. Try to get in cheap, fold to any big raise, consider calling a modest raise if it’s from an early position, but usually fold if you are between 2 or more aggressive players.

It’s unwise to put yourself in a position where you risk a large portion of your chips preflop where you are either a small favorite or a big dog. Against 2 overs, it’s pretty close to a coin toss, but against a bigger pair, you will be a 4-1 underdog. You will flop a set about 1 time in 8.

Note that I say, “usually” and “almost always.” This is because there are situations, like against super tight players, where you can steal if you miss the flop. It’s also a good idea to mix up your play a little to make yourself harder to read. (“Usually” might be 70% of the time, and “almost always” 90% or so)

1 Like

i fully agree with sun’s comment but want to add a few things too