Dumb questions, bad assumptions, & shameless self-aggrandizing

pocket Jacks have befuddled me since i started playing. It’s a top 5 hand, but as often as not, i end up playing them like a pair of eights. Any appearance of the 12 overcards kills my action, and i’m now hoping for a set, or good draw, just like with most medium pocket pairs. I’ve gotten advice from articles I’ve read.
Keep the pot small, Raise from early position, limp and set mine from later position, try to trap from the blinds.
I’ve recently changed how i deal with pairs in general. i was watching some youtube clips a few days ago, and noticed the approach the pros take with their pairs, doesn’t resemble my play at all. Especially middle pair. I altered my game accordingly, and i couldn’t be more pleased with the results. Two 50K tourney wins, several; SnG wins and cashes, and hovering above the 1 million mark for the first time, on my own merit. (i broke 1M a couple of times for about 5 minutes, but with the help of purchased chips)
Could a simple adjustment to your game make this much difference?
I’ve either cleared a major hurdle in my game, or about to crash and burn when variance rears it’s bad side.
Still, i’d like to hear how you guys handle pocket J, in general. Pocket 9s is another. With Ts, i just sit and wait for them to treat me right. Seems to be working, so far.

4 Likes

How to play pocket pairs:

It depends.

1 Like

this comes under the assumptions heading…
i’m gonna assume that the SB is as lucky as it gets, when it comes to being lucky to have a crap hand.
i finished 4th. i only had a few BB, and had been looking for a spot, for a few hands, now.

2nd place pays somewhere around 65K, on a 25K entry

It does. it depends on how much people are willing to pay to see if it’s their time for that straight or flush to hit on the river. Don’t know the odds, but i’m betting middle pair beats a busted straight draw, most of the time.
At least i have been. Let ya know how it turns out.