Bankroll building strategy reflection

Hello all,

I’ve been looking at my bankroll evolution since I joined the site and noticed that I had a huge leap when I started playing ring games.

Now I don’t play as much MTT as I used to play since I feel after a certain amount of chips it doesn’t make sense to play MTT to build a bankroll, it’s more to have the satisfaction of wining a tourney.

I was wondering if you were experiencing the same thing, I’ve 4,4M right now and noticed my leap around 500k when I started to play 100/200 NHLE at full ring and 6max. Then I went from 100/200 to 1000/2000 pretty quickly:

I think it could be interesting for new players to have an optimal strategy on their bankroll building from the beginning so they stick around more. Intuitively I’d say start with MTT/SnG then go to ring game and play MTT/SnG for fun.

2 Likes

Here are graphs of my chip progression and my daily profit/loss. Last July I started to play a lot more ring and fewer SnGs, and my bankroll rocketed from 8m to 19m in 2 months.

I recently got bored with ring and started playing really experimentally and then quit the site for a month after losing 6m chips in the process (never bluff a fish). My conclusion is that while ring will always be more profitable (you can consistently win 500k+ per session, while winning a 250k mtt will only net ~2.5m), at some point the chips are meaningless and tournaments are more fun because they are more dynamic. I also think that Replay tournament strategy is closer to real-money tournament strategy than Replay ring strategy is to real-money ring strategy.

Just out of curiousity, any idea how many more/less you’re playing as a result of switching to Sit n Gos? I wonder if your bankroll is going up more quickly because there are no time restrictions on when you can play a SnG. Granted, that would only be a small part of the picture, but I like weird stats. =)

Thanks for sharing!