v calls
board turns 8s Qd 9h As
v checks
hero bet 1/2 pot
v shoves
13 outs
no pot odds to speak of
do i make this call?
i’m a very slight underdog in stack size. a few hundred chips maybe. i’m just under 7K, he’s just over, or something like that. blinds are 100/50, so maybe 15-20 min. in.
no read on V. i’m fairly new to table.
i’m thinking i need better pot odds to justify the call.

i’ll post the hand later

You flopped two pair, and had outs to a 2nd nut flush or a full house. Heck yeah I’m making that call.

You could be behind, your opponent holding AQ or a set of something could be very bad for you, and you could consider if they have a suited King that would dominate your own flush if it hits, but I think here you have a lot of outs to a couple of very nutty hands that would beat both of those, and two pair QQ99 is enough to stand up to a paired Ace if that’s all they’re holding. With that many chips in the middle, you probably should not let them go, and accept it if you’re indeed beat; your hand may just surprise them.

Generally, I wouldn’t advise raising Q9s from UTG. But there’s some variables to consider there, like how are the blinds relative to stack size, how many are seated at the table. There’s a lot better places to play better cards than that, but you flopped good.

I’m sorry, I don’t understand the first line. What position are you ? You raise 3 BB from UTG+2, and who calls and from what position ? 9-handed, 6-handed, MTT ?
Please make sure to take a few minutes to make the layout clear (I don’t know if I’m the one who needs some extra glasses lol). More people will also respond!

1 Like

i see the confusion. it should read:
hero has Qs 9s, bets 3BB UTG
2 call
main play is me utg against villain in the BB. the seat that folded on the flop bet was mid position, on a 9 chair table. i’ve noticed that seat locations are named differently on 6 and 9 chair games. is UTG still a 9 chair designation, or is it just early, mid, and late?