Advice on this hand?

i’m holding K8sc still learning.

https://www.replaypoker.com/hand/replay/496417362/two-pair-aces-and-kings

What is your question?

Kc and 8c … for what its worth I would probably have played it the same way, you risked a small amount in case of the 3rd A being in one of the other two hands so in the case of one of them calling you and having the better hand, you wouldn’t have lost too much, as it happens… you won without taking too big a risk. ( I’m no expert though … LOL ) :wink:

1 Like

Concur.

1 Like

Pre flop… Fold, Kc8c is not a good enough hand to be played from early or middle position. You can play it from late position in the CO or BTN (cut off, button). I would only play it if it folded to me and I would def open (raise) if I did decide to play it. Also when you are opening hands you should be opening much bigger, at least 3x with no antes in the early stages of tournaments and bigger if limpers are already in. We do this to get value from and punish all the players who are playing ranges too wide with way too many hands. Reason to not min raise such mediocre holdings are we are not thinning the field (still 5 to the flop) and we are not charging our opponents mistakes. We are then stuck playing OOP (out of position) in a bloated pot with a bad hand and a lower SPR (stack to pot ratio).

OTF (on the flop)… Flop is fine.

OTT (on the turn)… I do not like betting here as we are still behind a good amount of the time as our opponents in a multi way pot should be checking weak A’s and definitely all their Kx hands. You did get called by worse but that’s not going to happen most of the time you get called. You will usually be beat. If you have to bet I would again go a bit larger, charging the back door flush draw is more important that trying to squeak out value from QQ-88 and 7x hands all of which should be folding to turn bets anyway.