Who do you want position on

just something that crossed my mind by watching another topic.
do you rather have position on the fish or on the sharks of the table?

against fish you can extract maximal value vs the players you will win the most from.
however vs the sharks you will have an advantage over the players having most chance to beat you.

gl all,
yiazmat.

• fish
  • sharks
  • don’t care

0 voters

Everyone should want to be in position on everyone else, so saying you don’t care is just wrong. But in terms of sharks vs fish, I’d rather be to the immediate left of the best/most aggressive player so I can know their action before choosing my own.

7 Likes

I started playing ring games a short time ago, so probably I can’t really judge.

When I have a little time to play, I can only be glad if I can find a place at one of the high stakes tables, without having to wait too long. Sometimes there are 2-3 people on the waiting list. So I must be content with whatever I find there: sharks or fishes, aggressive or passive players, nice or rude people, and the only position which is available. Actually until now, if I remember correctly, I have never had a choice.

Yiazmat, is it different for the tables at which you play? Do you know all your opponents so well that you can categorize them? And do you really wait to play until the most convenient position is available?
Or is this only a theoretical issue?

Well, if I had a choice, as Joedirk said, I’d sit left of the most aggressive player, to better control his actions and play accordingly.

1 Like

I’m with @JoeDirk. Limiting my losses by having position on sharks beats maximizing gains by having position on fish.

2 Likes

I’m with Joe and Wanna, put me to the immediate left of the most aggressive player at the table.

2 Likes