How social are you at the table?

When I started playing here, I was a rock. Mum, never showing, always mucking.

I stayed like that for a couple months, thinking that it was the best way to preserve my advantage (if you can call it that) of being mysterious.

After a while, I started to pay more attention to the chat, and would greet familiar players, say “nh” and “gg” and “gl” and stuff like that, you know, the formal pleasantries.

More recently, I’ve gotten more talkative. I just feel like there’s more to poker than staring at cards, and it helps to pass the time. I don’t try to annoy people, and I’m not rude to anyone. I guess if people are annoyed by chatty poker players, I might not be able to avoid someone like that, but mostly I’m trying to have a fun time.

I’ve been a regular enough that some of the other regulars recognize me and say hi when they see me at a table, and I like that. Even though I don’t know who anyone is on this site in real life, it’s all right to have a side conversation. Mostly I just talk about how I’ve been playing lately, either I’m up or I’m down. Maybe it tips someone off as to how to play me, I dunno. I don’t really worry too much about that.

In the last 2 days, though, 2 people have commented to me something I would consider negative in chat. One, a high-ranked player, called me a “bingo player” at a 9-seat SNG, when we were 3-up, and they were the short stack. Then I eliminated them, and they called me and the remaining player in heads-up both bingo players. I really didn’t care, because I surely wasn’t playing anything close to bingo, and if they thought that’s what I was doing, then that probably explains why they weren’t beating me in this game. I didn’t take the bait, and let them feel bad about losing to a couple of bingo players.